was successfully added to your cart.

F1 has raced at the Sakhir circuit since 2004 when it made history as the first grand prix to be held in the Middle East.

The kingdom of Bahrain is one of the more liberal Arab states and as such, there’s a vibrant social scene around the city and alcohol is available.

The Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons are two stand-outs but for those wanting to stay close to the track, try the Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa sea & spa. It’s on the coast, 4.7km from the track and is popular with the drivers and teams.

Bahrain F1 Night Sky


tyre mark

A good value hotel option is the Downtown Rotana which is adjacent to the main souk (market). It has a super rooftop bar which is best enjoyed at sunset. If you want to stay where the drivers stay, opt for the Sofitel near the track.

tyre mark

There is minimal public transport in Bahrain so most visitors choose to rent a car and drive. Rental cars are good value if booked in advance and fuel is the cheapest I encounter anywhere in the world, about a quarter of the price you’d pay in Europe. Special F1 buses also run from several hotels to the track and back at pre-determined times.

The race starts at dusk which sees temperatures lower than during the heat of the day. The grandstands are situated around the main straight, the first and last turn and at the back of the paddock. There is no spectator access to the back part of the track and no general admission standing area tickets are sold, it’s all grandstand seating.

I rate the Bahrain paddock as the best of all the paddocks and at night, with the tower and paddock lit up, it has a magical atmosphere.

Bahrain F1 Ferris Wheel McLaren


Bahrain, Sakhir F1 Experiences

Make the most of your Grand Prix adventure with F1 Experiences – the official experience, hospitality & travel program for Formula 1! Enjoy premium tickets, privileged trackside views, first-class hotels & transfers and even yacht access.

F1 Packages

Yacht Access





The track itself is some 31 kilometres south of Manama, the capital and can be reached by motorway in 30 minutes with normal traffic. Most spectators choose to stay in and around the city and there are plenty of quality hotels to choose from.

Since 2004

light grey tyre mark Circuit map

Number of Laps:


Circuit Length:


Race Distance:


Lap Record:


Pedro de la Rosa (2005)

tyre mark

Bahrain Grand Prix Results 2022

tyre mark







Position Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3
1 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:31.471 1:30.932 1:30.558
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:31.785 1:30.757 1:30.681
3 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1:31.567 1:30.787 1:30.687
4 Sergio Pérez Red Bull 1:32.311 1:31.008 1:30.921
5 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:32.285 1:31.048 1:31.238
6 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo 1:31.919 1:31.717 1:31.560
7 Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team 1:31.955 1:31.461 1:31.808
8 Fernando Alonso Alpine F1 Team 1:32.346 1:31.621 1:32.195
9 George Russell Mercedes 1:32.269 1:31.252 1:32.216
10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1:32.096 1:31.635 1:32.338
11 Esteban Ocon Alpine F1 Team 1:32.041 1:31.782
12 Mick Schumacher Haas F1 Team 1:32.380 1:31.998
13 Lando Norris McLaren 1:32.239 1:32.008
14 Alexander Albon Williams 1:32.726 1:32.664
15 Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo 1:32.493 1:33.543
16 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1:32.750
17 Nico Hülkenberg Aston Martin 1:32.777
18 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 1:32.945
19 Lance Stroll Aston Martin 1:33.032
20 Nicholas Latifi Williams 1:33.634
Position Driver Team Time Points
1 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:37:33.584 26
2 Carlos Sainz Ferrari +5.598 18
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +9.675 15
4 George Russell Mercedes +11.211 12
5 Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team +14.754 10
6 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo +16.119 8
7 Esteban Ocon Alpine F1 Team +19.423 6
8 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri +20.386 4
9 Fernando Alonso Alpine F1 Team +22.390 2
10 Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo +23.064 1
11 Mick Schumacher Haas F1 Team +32.574 0
12 Lance Stroll Aston Martin +45.873 0
13 Alexander Albon Williams +53.932 0
14 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren +54.975 0
15 Lando Norris McLaren +56.335 0
16 Nicholas Latifi Williams +1:01.795 0
17 Nico Hülkenberg Aston Martin +1:03.829 0
18 Sergio Pérez Red Bull 0
19 Max Verstappen Red Bull 0
20 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 0